[Petis] Another Ethereal Greeting

edited February 2002 in General Discussion

Comments

• edited December 1969
    This is a copy of a post I just wrote up on TheMill. Though I never became a "friend of plaid," I still wanted to post here to say hi to some of the names I remember (and in a few cases, clanmates): Carch, Cinnibar, Deacon, Orca, Neurotic, Scrugg, Case, Spry, Alienate, 'Zilla, Conner, Kodiak, Muffinhead, Panamon, Wintermute ('mute), Sir Real (!),

When I started playing Myth, the "big gripe" was how all of the newbies were ruining the beta-community's happy home. How many years ago? Lots, I guess.

Many, many hours were spent screaming and laughing with my clan(s). My wife (my real-life wife) has her ancient email account still: mythwidow@...com. That was the nature of my involvement.

Our heroes then are probably forgotten now. Case, and the Total Codex, was the defacto alpha-fan and later became a champion Admin.

And later came the rift between the ranked and unranked fans. That debate was as pointless as "Nike vs. Addidas" but probably had more lasting power than any other sore spot.

When Myth2 came out, the community really didn't seem to handle it too well. Sure, it grew and new heroes were appointed (Santa's Head, Cinnibar, Deac, ), things were changing. News that Microsoft bought Bungie emerged.

That's about when I "really" quit playing. I went on to write Myth-themed articles for Dragon, TopDeck and The Duelist magazines (print) on matters like strategy and the beasts you might use in your D&D games. Regardless, my involvement with the B.net community was not really firm at this point. My clan had splintered into others and friendships faded.

Today, I finally set up my DSL in my new house. Tired with shooters, I thought it would be nice to bang around in B.net for the evening and see what was up.

I am too late.